Pearl Expectations

With three fests back-to-back, this semester is jam-packed with work and play. Pearl, the last fest of the marathon, also happens to be the biggest. We went around asking our fellow freshmen and beloved seniors, what they expect from this year’s “Odyssey of Legends”, and got a potpourri of reactions. Here they are:

  1. Pearl? Yes. Of course I’m excited. Duh! This year I’m comparatively less swamped with work. Sherlocked is my first and last priority, and I am pumped that I get to be part of one of the biggest events of the fest. *mysterious Sherlocked mode smile*

    2

    I’m not looking forward to the post-Pearl time. It gets dry, and there are no more events to look forward to in college apart from Music Night. On the other hand, it’s a relief those long hours of work, those all-nighters, at the SAC come to an end. At the end though, Pearl gives you lots of happy moments and beautiful memories. Umm so, mixed feelings.

    3

    Yes! Yes! Yes! First college cultural fest! To hell with deflated seniors. We are going to rock this year’s show!

     

    4

    I’m super cool. I’m so cool that I may turn into ice. No, seriously.                                                                                               Actually, I am really looking forward to working for this fest. Photography (#treasurer), dance (#publicity), drama, DoSH, DePP, DoSM. You name it, I’m in it!

    5

    Pearl? See, the thing is, I’m calm. I’m usually calm about everything.

    6

    I’m one of the few people looking forward to the band. I think they are going to be awesome. The pro-show line-up is pretty good this Pearl. Plus the footfall this time will be unprecedented if online support and the amazing publicity is anything to go by. We feel this one is going to be better than previous years.

    7

    Dance Club! Yahoo! We are rocking it! The events we have for you this Pearl are off-the-hook. Other clubs? I don’t know. *Peace out*

    8

    The short girl and the tall guy. We’re always excited about everything!                                                                                              Tall smart guy: This time, the events are going to be on a much bigger scale. There is a lot of synchronisation and coordination between clubs, organisers and volunteers this year. And I’m expecting things to run much more smoothly and efficiently in Pearl.                                                                              Short cute girl: See, we’re  so in sync and so coordinated, that we’re one body!

    9

    “We’re not even going to be here. We’re going to London.”                                                                                  “We’re not even going to be here!! We’re going to Londooon!!”

    10

    My left hand represents my first Pearl. And my right hand is what I’m expecting your first Pearl to be like.

    11

    Umm, it’s the same thing every year. We work, we enjoy. No special expectations.

    12

    I’m so excited that I went ahead and picked my dresses for all four days. I’m so excited that I’m not going to sleep for the next two weeks. I’m so excited that I’m counting down the days. East or west, Pearl is the best! Go Pearl! Yay!

    13

    I don’t know anything about what’s happening in Pearl. I haven’t followed what pro-shows we have this time. All I’m looking forward to is meeting my friends who will be coming back to campus. See, it’s like… been there, done that. Sorry, you hysterical freshmen.

    14

    Third year gyaan: It’s always what you hear from others, their opinions and views, and how seriously you give into it, that determines whether you’ll be disappointed or impressed. Now when I look back at my two Pearls, I realise that they really weren’t as bad as they seemed. It was only the unrealistic expectations that people had built in my mind which deflated the Pearl charm. What I really believe is that with every year, the incoming new talent in clubs, raises the expectation levels tenfold. If last year had a 20% energy level, this year must be 100%. And you know what; the real essence of the fest lies in the preparation time, those 5 days before Pearl, where you roam around like madmen getting work done. It is analogous to the preparation time before exams, where you’re pumped and raring to go. It’s when you realise the true meaning of to go big or go home.

    15

    Pearl? So what I’m expecting from Pearl is… *gives loud creepy laugh*.


    Aditi Ghosh
    and
    Aayushi Sharma

Leave a comment