Diary Entry of A Half Engineer

Date: 22nd May 2016

Time: 2:30 am

Fierce bolts of lightning and roars of thunder rolled in, piercing through the window pane, which jerked me out of my slumber…it must have been raining for a while, I thought. Exhausted by the day, I had dozed off early without turning the lights off. Another bolt came rolling in, dazzling the grey sky, followed by the loudest peal of thunder that I have ever heard.

Blackout.

The city went dark, the hustle-bustle of the lights dropped dead and the ceiling fan circled around, squeaking ugly noises into the obnoxious silence of the room. My heart beat was all I could hear after that.

I was making desperate efforts to search for my spectacles and run to one of my wingies’ room. I opened the door where another flash made me realise that I was not in college. Instead I was somewhere in an unknown city bearing 2 crore unknown others. I didn’t have anywhere to go.

Date: 23rd May 2016

Time: 8:20 am

New city, new people, new work. Today is the first day of PS. For the next two months, I will be living on my own, as an adult and will have to figure out the path that I will choose for the rest of my life. It has been two years since I have had this type of butterflies in my tummy, those of eagerness and fear. Except then, I’ve always been in a closed, protected environment with tons of people to help and here…

*the cab waiting outside hoots and honks like a broken tape recorder*

 

Date: 24th May 2016

Time: 10:01 pm

The first day at PS made me wonder what I was doing in life. For the last two years, life had been pretty convenient, except of course during compre times where this monster called “sleep” never lets go of me and another devil called “laziness” prevents me from walking up to the acad-block to listen to another human being trying to make the 700 of us, engineers. The fun part is, the things we study actually come into use everyday. Damn. It actually shouldn’t have been that difficult. Simultaneously, the thought of being thrown into a work-place like my PS creeped me out instantly. I wanted to go home.

 

Date: 25th May 2016

Time: 8:00 pm

A new respect for mess food and campus culture. When I was there, on campus,  I used to cry about being 25 km away from the city. And now when I am in a city, I so badly want to go back. I remember how I had friends who used to drag the picky me to the mess to ensure that I ate; here nobody pays heed to my eating habits. And those casual night-strolls around under the dim campus lights? Here, it’s just me and the four walls of my room.

The universe has its own ways of teaching us how to value life.

Date: 26th May 2016

Time: 9:00 pm

Maybe it is time to accept how world works. Maybe all this while what we have been told about the world being demonic and harsh, it is all true. Maybe I can let go of my expectations from the world. College seems to be so perfect in front of all this. The fights, the failures, the heartaches, the exam time blues seem oh so insignificantly tiny.

*Yay* This makes me feel better about myself

Sigh. Two more months for this kind of a life. Then, back to college for another one and half year. I might be placed at any corner of the world, henceforth…but there is a good chance that my heart would forever lie in this patch of Shamirpet. Is this the magic BITS-Pilani has known to encapsulate its students in?

Aayushi Sharma

2 thoughts on “Diary Entry of A Half Engineer

Leave a Reply

