TDB: The Making of

“Together we are so much more, you know?”

We've come a long way and we couldn't have done it without you seniors. And so the last article of the last issue is for you guys. You now have the final word.

Abhimanyu Mukherjee (in-house designer):

So I’ve got to write about my TDB experience? I’m not exactly the best writer so this may not (read will not) be the most aesthetically pleasing read, but I’ll give it a go.

I voluntarily left working for DoTA, I stopped making posters unless it was a special request from my friends, so why on earth would I bother spending my time designing posters, fb display pictures, fb cover photos, article cover photos, try my hand at designing comics for an institution that gives me nothing substantial in return? Because it did give me something in return. In fact, it gave me exactly what I had hoped for and more. It gave me freedom to design, it gave me a chance to express my ideas through the one medium I kind of know, it let me see first hand how creative the following batches are going to be, and I must say, they do have a lot to smile about in that respect.

I came into this college thinking I’m pretty good at writing and penning my thoughts on paper, but after a disastrous ELAS induction, I swore off writing completely and had lost interest in reading articles or blogs. But TDB brought me back. At the very core of this group is the collective ability to make people laugh, smile, think and cry through words and it’s brought out those very emotions in me. And for that I will always have a very special place in my heart for TDB.

Arvind Badri (The Grammar Nazi Copy-editor) :

What was it like, working in TDB?

That’s a damn good question, really. Over the months, our bunch has been alternating amongst doing a little bit of everything ­ not bragging, but we’ve written articles, we’ve edited articles, we’ve uploaded onto the website, we’ve written publicity posts, we’ve written editor’s notes, we’ve fended off angry people offended by the contents of articles… Whatever TDB amounts to, that’s something to be bloody proud of. For a bunch of students working for zero compensation and virtually no perks, we’ve come a long, long way. I’m glad that I agreed to take up this heck of a thankless job on a windy July evening in Hyderabad ­ and that’s one of the rare moments that you’ll hear me admit that I enjoyed having given myself more work. Writing for TDB has been a pleasure: a journey of figuring out how to present my writing in a way that would reach out to two thousand souls. Whether it was writing a list of ten things NOT to do in college, or an amateur character analysis of the Indian heroine, I’ll look back at TDB with fond nostalgia.

That was… pretentious.

To be honest, we’re all beings that thrive in expression. To be heard, leave alone to be heard as the voice of a magazine that has now been visited by nearly a hundred thousand clicks… That’s a heck of a reason to pick up that pen (or more realistically, click on the notepad icon). To come together to create something that can make people smile, laugh, think, maybe even cry ­ that’s a feeling that few things can beat. Thanks for that opportunity ­from the bottom of my heart.

Sagar Shah (The Go-To GUY)

A random phone call on a boring Tuesday from a junior (pardon my unpleasantaries) wasn’t my most favourite moment, especially when the Practice School station was gruelling me hard on a dry sunny day in Ahmedabad. Fortunately, or not, the phone call was about to define a major chunk of my pseudo-final year in college.

A small group of overtly enthusiastic yet amateurish collegemates attempting to implement the fourth estate in their institution was a fine idea, but the efforts put in were real, often meeting with resistance from different sources. But putting the mundane “we-faced-ups-and-downs-but-stuck-together-I-am-so-proud-of-it-blah-blah-blah” aside, why take the pains when you have a final chance to enjoy college?

Here’s an answer. I have no idea.

Honestly, TDB was my first ever attempt to writing. (Haw! ELAS secretary admits to his poor writing skills. Noob.) Needless to say, the “BPHC and Hogwarts” article remains my favourite possession. TDB, with most other activities in college was an attempt to express unbiased fearless thoughts, but asked for immense responsibility against misuse. Jump into anything new you get an opportunity to enter, explore it and then decide your comfort zone; you never know when you will miss a chance to encounter a TDB.

Leave a Reply

